The media can be very helpful in building awareness about your Unit's Joining Night efforts.

Building Media Coverage

Here are some tips and ideas to get the word out through media coverage.

  • Target your audience by making a list of the best media outlets to help you reach the parents of Cub Scout aged youth in your community.
  • Develop a media contact list, always sending your media releases to a specific person if possible. Develop a list of reporters and/or editors who cover events like yours or who work in the community- related area of that media source. Be sure to include name, phone number, fax number, and e-mail address when compiling your list.
Develop a Press Release

  • Keep it simple. A one-page announcement ensures that the reporter/editor will not have to do much editing.  (We have provided a template here.)
  • Choose a catchy, easy-to-read headline for your press release.
  • Be sure to include all pertinent details about your event: who, what, when, where, why, how
  • Provide the reporter a name and contact information in case any follow up is needed.
  • If possible, include a photo to tell your story. Choose a fun action shot that best depicts Scouting in your community.


Some Newspapers and Contacts in Our Council Community

Aledo Times Record        jpulliam@aledotimesrecord.com
        John Pulliam
Bellevue Herald
  dnamanny@bellevueheraldleader.com
  David Namanny
Bettendorf News   jhill@qctimes.com
  Janet Hill
Blue Grass Bugle   kristyseamer@gmail.com
  Kristy Seamer
Catholic Messenger   amacher@davenportdiocese.org
  Ann Marie Amacher
Clinton Herald   cbielema@clintonherald.com
  Charlene Bielema
Daily Dispatch/Rock Island Argus   press@qconline.com
   
Galesburg Register-Mail   news@register-mail.com
   
Geneseo Republic   www.geneseorepublic.com    
Maquoketa Sentinel   newsdept@mspress.net
  Vickie Earles
McDonough Voice   jdubach@mcdonoughvoice.com
   
Muscatine Journal   news@muscatinejournal.com
   
Preston Times   editor@prestontimesonline.com
   
Quad City Times   lresnick@qctimes.com
  Lucinda Resnick
West Liberty News   INDEXNEWS@Lcom.net
  Jacob Lane
Wilton Advocate   adnews@netwtc.net    

Radio

Contact local AM and FM radio stations to find out if they have a 'spot' for local guests or callers to discuss upcoming events. Or ask the station to make a public service announcement on behalf of your unit.

Thank You

Be sure to send a thank-you note to the reporter once your press release is published.